“Why Literature?” by Mario Vargas Llosa

Happy Monday!

Due to a busy homework schedule, I’m afraid I can’t write a long, intriguing post, but I had to take a moment to tell you of an essay that I had to read for my American literature class. 

It is an work entitled “Why Literature?” by Mario Vargas Llosa and is part of a larger work, The New Republic, which I have not read, unfortunately. 

This essay so eloquently and powerfully describes the importance of literature to the past, present, and future of our society. He begins by stating a popular question: why literature? And concludes his articulate and logical answer with a plea for us all. 

I myself have a plea to you all, and that is this: Go find and read Llosa’s essay in the first moment you find to do so, and let it open your eyes and mind the way that it did mine! 

Leave a Reply

