Poem of the Week: Analese

Happy Monday once again!

Today’s post is the “Poem of the Week”! This week’s poem was written by yours truly! That’s right. It’s an Alyssa original entitled “Analese”. Enjoy and feel free to give me your honest opinion (even if that means criticism).

Analese

“On calm nights by the fire
fathers take their children upon their knees
And tell them the age-old tale of a man
And his only love, Analese

On clear nights such as these, they say
He’d ride swiftly under the stars
Meet his love on the west bank of the creek
And hold her in his arms

Every time, without ever a fail
Just before the end of night
He would place in her hand a single red rose
Then ride off to beat the light

A dozen times this visit happened
A dozen times, no less, no more
But on the night of the dozenth rose
The man was struck with horror

For when he stepped down off his silver steed
And turned to Analese
He saw her tiny, lifeless form
Face down in the creek

The swift water of the heartless creek
Had caught the hem of her gown
Ripping her feet from the sharp rock
Upon which her head came down

After riding away on that lonely night
Blinded by his own bitter tears
The mysterious man was never heard from again
He hung himself, so I hear

The story of the man and his love is true
We know, because its told
That on the back of the dead Analese was found
A tear-stained single red rose”

~Alyssa Dulaney

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This poem was written last year, I believe, and it’s far from my usual style. However, in writing “Analese” I was attempting to imitate an Edgar Allen Poe feel, simply to try my hand at it. How did I do?

Last “Poem of the Week” I provided my own sort of interpretation of the chosen poem. It would seem a bit strange to do the same this week since it is my own poem… That being said, I would love if you would do it for me via a comment. Thank you!

9 thoughts on “Poem of the Week: Analese

  1. You asked for feedback, and although poetry is not my forte, I will attempt to give you some. As a writer, I know how we crave that constructive criticism (at least, I do.) and I was intrigued when I read this poem, so I’ll attempt to leave some of my thoughts with you here.

    This is an interesting poem, and the name “Analese” reminds me of “Annabel Lee.” However, when I first read it, I was reminded of Tennyson’s “The Lady of Shallot” more than Poe’s poem mentioned above, but upon re-read I think you might have struck a note between the two. The references to nature and the lovers meeting-place remind me of the Romantics, but the macabre ending for Analese is tragic enough for Poe, if not quite Gothic (Gothic usually contains an element of the supernatural).

    Your choice of setting also left me with a couple of questions. I wondered why the lovers had to meet in secret and at night. Was it at the request of the woman? Would her father disapprove of the mysterious man? Were they (*gasp*) engaged to other people? Was the man really a ghost that only appeared at night (which would definitely make the poem more Gothic)? Of course, in poetry, we don’t always get these answers, and that’s what makes it fun, but if you know the reason and can share, I’d love for you to tell it!!

    Anyway, the above thoughts are just that-thoughts. I enjoyed reading it and can’t wait to see what else you post!!

    Like

    1. I so appreciate your feedback! Even I, as the author, can’t answer some of these questions, which has definitely made me think that perhaps I should be more familiar with my work! Haha. I can tell you, however, that it was not because they were otherwise engaged, but because of her fear that her family would not approve of this mysterious man and his secretive nature. It was also, in part, his bidding, so he would not be made the center of attention… perhaps he feared some secrets would be unearthed… Who knows.
      Man or ghost? That’s the thing about these age-old tales… there is no certainty.

      Like

      1. Oh! and “The Lady of Shallot” is one of my favorite poems! “On either side the river lie long fields of barely and of rye, that clothe the wold and meet the sky, and through the field the road runs by, to many towered Camelot, and up and down the people go, gazing where the lillies grow on the island there below… The Island of Shallot.” I know it’s not in poetry form and its just the beginning, but is that right? Haha!

        Like

      2. Ahhh! That makes more sense. I really did enjoy the poem. Maybe if you ever revise it you could add a stanza about your mysterious man, not to directly tell anything, but to deepen your reader’s sense of the “mysterious.”

        Good job, Alyssa!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. “The Lady of Shallot” is also one of my favorites. Ever since Anne recited it in that boat and Gilbert saved her, I’ve had a thing for the poem. I’m really more of a Tennyson girl than a Poe girl, anyway. I wonder what Anne Shirley thought of Edgar Allan Poe? In any case, I’m assuming you quoted it correctly because I do not have it memorized. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I read the poem one more time after I posted my comments and realized the poor man could not have been a ghost, or he would not have been able to hang himself. So much for that theory. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

