Poem of the Week: To Lucasta, Going to the Wars

Happy Monday!

I understand that people these days are not fond of Mondays… I get that, I guess. But, in my opinion, life is so much better if you see the best in EVERYTHING. So again I say: Happy Monday! As my mom would say: “It’s a fresh start! A fresh week!’ I don’t see why Monday can’t be as awesome as any other day of the week, and that’s coming from someone who’s stuck in bed with a massive headache. Haha 🙂

As I mentioned in my opening post, I’m going to be doing a “poem of the day”, which will actually be once a week most likely… So should I change it to “poem of the week”? Huh. Without further ado, the first “poem of the week”:

To Lucasta, Going to the Wars

Tell me not (Sweet) I am unkind,
         That from the nunnery
Of thy chaste breast and quiet mind
         To war and arms I fly.
True, a new mistress now I chase,
         The first foe in the field;
And with a stronger faith embrace
         A sword, a horse, a shield.
Yet this inconstancy is such
         As you too shall adore;
I could not love thee (Dear) so much,
         Lov’d I not Honour more.
~Richard Lovelace
 _______________________
So here is a man conversing with his love about the prospect of going to war. No one would want to hear the love of their life tell them that their leaving for war; however, he makes a strong point when he tells Lucasta that he couldn’t love her nearly so much if he didn’t love honor more. I believe that throughout this poem he is trying to convey that if he wasn’t willing to fight for what he loves, what would his love be worth? What is love without honor? Ultimately, she should admire him all the more for his willingness to do that which is honorable.
sword
This has to be one of my favorite poems, and to be honest, I couldn’t give you a simple reason why. I suppose it is his love for honor that draws me in. I have always had a soft spot for guys with old-fashioned gentlemanly ways and a love for respect and honour. 🙂
Please feel free to comment and share your opinions. Let’s make this a discussion!
Thank you for reading and I truly hope you drew something from this. What do you think of the “poem of the week” idea? Should I continue it?
Good day to you all!
3 thoughts on “Poem of the Week: To Lucasta, Going to the Wars

  1. Great job, Alyssa!

    Do you think the narrator is saying honor is the highest form of love? That it is love itself?

    And I would love to see a “poem of the week!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

